English- speaking Countries.
The UK of GB and Northern Ireland consists of 4 countries:
“Union Jack”
The emblems.
Nationalities and Languages.
New Zealand.
Category: englishenglish

English- speaking Countries

1. English- speaking Countries.

1)What countries are marked on this map?
2)What main languages do people speak in those countries?
3)What of their capitals do you know?

2. The UK of GB and Northern Ireland consists of 4 countries:

• England
• Scotland
• Wales
• Northern Ireland
Their capitals are:
• London
• Edinburgh
• Cardiff
• Belfast

3. “Union Jack”

It is a popular name of the flag of the UK of GB and NI.
Union- союз (союзный) symbolizes the union between
England and Scotland in 1660.
“Jack”- флаг, который обычно развевался на мачтах
кораблей, указывая на их государственную принадлежность.
The flag consists of three crosses:
red vertical St. George’s cross ,
white diagonal St. Andrew's Cross and red diagonal
St. Patrick’s Cross.

4. The emblems.

The emblem of England is Red Rose.
The emblem of Scotland is thistle.
The emblem of Wales is a leek and a daffodil.
The emblem of Northern Ireland is a shamrock.

5. Nationalities and Languages.

The official language of G. B. is English.
In the UK 19% of the population in Wales speak Welsh
(a Celtic lang.); in Scotland 2% of the population speak
Gaelic (another Celtic lang.)
Northern Ireland


The Republic of Ireland.
The popular name of the country is Eire.
The capital is Dublin.
English and Gaelic are the official Languages.


The USA. The United States of America.
It consists of 50 states and the District
of Columbia where the capital is
Washington. English is the first state
language. People who live in the USA are the


The American National Flag.
“Stars and Stripes” is a popular name of the flag. You
can see on it seven red and six white stripes which
symbolize 13 states united in 1776.
In the left corner you can see blue rectangle with 50
white stars. (the number of states nowadays)


New Zealand.
A country in the Pacific Ocean.
The official languages are English and Maori.
“Kiwi land” is a popular name of the country.
Kiwi, a bird is a national symbol of the country.
The capital is Wellington.

10. New Zealand.

On the blue background in the left corner you can see reduced
flag of the UK
To the right you can see 4 red stars with white borders. They
stand for a galaxy of South Cross, which you can clearly see
in N.Z. at night. The nationalities are the New Zealanders and
Maori. They like to call themselves the kiwis and the language
they speak “kiwi English”.


It is both a continent and a country
which lies between the Indian and
the Pacific Oceans.
The capital of the country is Canberra.
The nationality is the Australians.
English is the first state language.
The symbols of the country are
a kangaroo and an ostrich.


It is a country in North America. “Kanata”
is an Indian word that means village.
The capital is Ottawa.
English and French are the official languages.
People who lives in this country are
the Canadians. Popular name is “Lady of the snows”.
On the national flag you can see a maple leaf.
English     Русский Rules